Evidence says, work out…while you watch TV

(www.techchee.com)

By: Dr. Steve Salvatore, Co-Owner of The Academy

A new study finds that people who spend too much time sitting in front of their TV or computer have a shorter lifespan.  Researchers say if you spend more than four hours in front of the TV, you double your risk of a heart attack.  This is only made worse when you consider that most people spend their day just sitting behind a desk and then head home to sit in front of the TV and computer.

It turns out, there is a correlation between the amount of passive sitting we do, and the levels of C-reactive protein in our bodies, which is a predictor of inflammation and high cholesterol.

Compromise…Perhaps a treadmill in front of your TV or computer would be a healthier alternative?!  Get up and move…Save your life!

6 thoughts on “Evidence says, work out…while you watch TV

  1. Absolutely! Exercise can reverse the effects of your sedentary situation. Many of the harmful effects of physical inactivity can be reversed, and sometimes improved, by a similar period of moderate exercise. As for the discoloration in your lower extremities…I recommend you see a doctor to rule out any serious medical issues.

    Perhaps the step device you’ve purchased will help your situation OR better yet, you could take a break and get outside for a walk. The exercise and the fresh air will do your body and mind some good!

    Good luck!

    • Thank you! I feel encouraged!

      I feel this is my time. I’m at a crossroads and it is not too late. Either I will do this or I won’t. But if I go the latter route … well …then I will not have the quality of life I desire.

      Again …thank you Dr Steve. 🙂

  2. I think having a treadmill in front of your television is a great first step in living a healthier life. But I was also going to say that getting outside to exercise is even healthier for both your mental and physical health – which you just mentioned in your comment about “the exercise and fresh air will do your body and mind some good” 🙂

    I think having a variety in your exercise routine is important. Yes, you could have a treadmill in front of your television, but you could also go bowling with friends, take your dog for a walk in the park, go swimming at the YMCA/YWCA, or start a walking group in your community, etc. If that is too overwhelming for you at first, then start gradually – taking the stairs instead of the elevator, parking further away from the grocery store, adding quick 5-minute walks to your day, etc. I think we’ll be much better off health-wise when we stop viewing exercise as a chore and more as a fun pastime 🙂

  3. I wholeheartedly agree with the comments here…BUT …aside from swimming, what is a person with severe bone on bone bilateral osteo arthritis in knees …who can’t take NSAIDS ..thus has limited pain management to do for low impact exercise?

    Even tho I agree with you about everything, I was also thinking ..but you don’t understand about the knee pain. Then I reread it and I realized ..wait a minute …*of course I can walk five minutes a day* and more.

    Then I thought of something my pcp recommended years ago.

    He once stated that people should walk 15 minutes out every day and no more. Then turn around and it will be 15 minutes back. He said the more you do it …you will become more fit and so will walk farther out in those 15 minutes.

    I don’t have any routines or schedules. I need to set a specific time for purposeful (with a goal) walking, so that I don’t let one day run into the next without having done anything.

    I get overwhelmed when I think about the big picture of everything I have to do to lose weight and become healthier in every way. But I do WANT to and will not give up.

    You can’t eat an elephant all at one, but you can eat it one bite at a time. 🙂

    I feel inspired after reading this post and comments.

    Have a great week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

